Thatchers dead & so are basic ethics

imaanmazari

I’m not a British citizen and I did not live through the Thatcher era. In whatever many ways it has impacted British society it has never directly affected me or my loved ones. Despite that, I come from a country where I understand what it’s like to hate leaders that have destroyed your country. I come from a country where I personally know generations before mine that celebrated the death of Zia-ul-Haq, a radical military dictator. I come from a country where Salman Taseer’s murderer was showered with rose petals, which coincidentally meant his death was celebrated.  So yes, I understand when people say they hated Margaret Thatcher because she had some terrible policies. I understand how resentful a large proportion of British society is due to Thatcher’s individualistic policies that widened the gap between the rich and the poor. I recognize that she had some horrendous policies such as…

View original post 651 more words

Leave a Reply

